Gluten is a common protein that is found in rye, barley, and wheat. Any food or drink that contains these grains also contain gluten. Unfortunately, some people are allergic to this particular protein, which means they would be interested in having an overview about foods to avoid with gluten. Other people want this overview because they choose not to eat gluten, believing that it is better for their overall health to cut these out of their diet.

Who Should Avoid Gluten?

People who have celiac disease have a complete intolerance to gluten. This means they must avoid it at all cost. Those who have dermititis herpetiformis, which means their skin reacts to contact with gluten, should also avoid it. Unfortunately, for them, an overview about foods to avoid with gluten is something they must completely memorize, as they have to stay away from gluten for life.

Overview About Foods to Avoid with Gluten:

Whether by choice or by necessity, if you have to avoid gluten, it is important that you know exactly what you can and cannot have. Some of the foods and drinks to avoid, therefore, include pizza bases, pasta, breakfast cereals, flours, biscuits, bread, fizzy drinks and squashes with barley, stout, lager, and ales. Most of these foods have now also been developed in “free from” ranges, which means that you can have an alternative. Some of those are available on prescription only, while others are available in specialist health stores, and still others can be found in regular grocery stores.

There is no gluten in oats. However, it is common for these to have been contaminated with gluten at some point in the production process. The consequence is that those who have celiac disease should only consume gluten-free oats, which have been prepared in uncontaminated environments. However, some people are also sensitive to avenin, which is the gluten equivalent protein found in oats, which means some have to avoid oats altogether. Usually, it is recommended that people who have been diagnosed with celiac disease should try some specially formulated oats to determine whether or not they are also allergic to avenin.

Lots of foods are also gluten-free and can be eaten normally. They include fruits and vegetables, meat, dairy foods, rice, pulses, eggs, flavored water, fruit juice and cordials, cider, fizzy drinks, sherry, wine, liqueurs, spirits, and port. If you are ever unsure, then a dietitian should be able to tell you whether or not a food is safe for you or not.

Food Prescriptions:

For those who are diagnosed with dermatitis herpetiformis or celiac disease, they may be able to receive gluten-free foods on prescription through their specialist consultant. Exactly what food is available will depend on where they live, what the rules there are, and their insurance packages. Most of the time, however, people simply need to learn how to read the label, thereby avoiding gluten through their own food choices.

If a food is labeled as being “gluten free”, it means that there is never more than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. It also means that they are completely safe to eat. You must check the label before you buy any product. And if a product that you are used to purchasing changes in any way, is listed as having an upgraded formula, or anything else of the sort, you must check again to make sure there have not been any changes in the gluten level.